Metal Storm logo
Earthquakes!

27.02.2008 - 11:31
Pole Kitten
Account deleted
so.... did anyone else in the UK feel the earthquake last night?? It occurred at 12.58am and the epicentre was 15 miles from where I was staying! It hit magnitude 5.2 on the Richter Scale for those interested and was fairly shallow at 10 miles deep. The biggest for 25 years it seems.

I studied geology for 7 years and am a little obsessed with keeping up-to-date with all things seismic as I really wanted to work in geophysics as a seismologist or volcanologist (that's volcanoes not men with pointy ears!)

I'm curious to know if anyone in the UK on here felt it and to get descriptions of what they saw/felt and also to see if anyone on the continent felt it as well. Also is anyone else interested in geology or geophysics at all?
27.02.2008 - 13:39
Valentin B
Iconoclast
5.2 on the richter?? pathetic! you should come here sometimes, we have a 7.5 or so quake every 30 years and one like this almost every 3 years or so
27.02.2008 - 13:44
Baz Anderson
Staff
I was asleep... yeh, so that is slightly annoying. seems to have woke everyone up but me
but yeh, the center was right here in Lincolnshire

I've always wanted to feel what it is like in an earthquake so this is slightly annoying indeed.. oh well, I still have the simulation of an earthquake in a Japanese shop that is in the Natural History Museum to go by... hahaha
27.02.2008 - 14:13
Deadsoulman
Elite
I remember feeling an earthquake when I was a student in the Northeast of France, near the Germany border. It was around 4 in the morning, I was asleep, and I remember I was more or less waken up by everything shaking in my room. But, I was in that half-dreaming state of someone who's been stirred off sleep and the only thing that came to my mind was that my - usually very noisy - above neighbour was having a very brutal shag. So I mumbled "my God, can't they fuck less violently?" and fell asleep again.